Remaining True To The Core of Yoga

Yoga belongs to the greatest period of Indian ethnic heritage and is believed to originate from India’s Golden age. The traditional concept of yoga in Sanskrit ‘ Yuj ‘ stands for “to join” or “to unite”, thus yoga means to convey a holistic union of self between the body, the mind and the spirit. Yoga in itself is a way of life. It encompasses routines or practices. It is a total harmony of our mystical body and the overall moral and mental discipline that results in good health and well being (arogya), which leads to long life (chirayu), as well as achieve innate control which results into a certain sense of evergreen joy, happiness, peace and tranquility.

The core of Yoga which is called Yoga Sutra or ashtanga which means “eight limbs” is an 8 basic step guide for one to achieve holistic completeness and self -discipline for a totally meaningful and healthy life.

Here are Patanjali’s eightfold path:

Yamas or the principle of righteousness: The first principle defines a person’s ethical standards and Eat Healthy Quotes social behavior. This path involves deep understanding of moral principles or universal morality.

Ahimsu – literally means being compassionate or kind hearted.

Satya – a pledge to truthfulness or honesty

Asteya – non stealing or not taking anything that is not yours.

Brahmacharya – Responsible behavior towards sexual activity.

Aparigraha – conquering our earthly desires and attachments to things.

Niyama is the rule or code to personal discipline and how a person values and manages himself.

Shauca – refers to cleanliness and purity in body and the mind. Cleanliness of our bodies can easily be achieved through keeping our selves clean and providing oneself with appropriate nutrition. Purity of the mind is the washing away of negative emotions or feelings like outrage, aggressiveness, pride, lust and greed.

Santosa – Contentment. Is simply the humility of making the best out of what we have instead of being depressed and discontented of the things we don’t have.

Tapas- Means self- discipline for handling inner urges whereby one can burn out obstacles that gets in the way for a person to achieve a certain goal.

Svadhyaya – Self awareness. All aspects of learning, reflection and meditation that can help you learn and discover more about yourself is considered svadhyaya.

Isvarapranidhana – means “to lay all your actions at the feet of God.” It is the recognition and awareness of God in our lives.

Asanas – Postures

The ideal yoga posture should be firm, steady, and comfortable. These postures is said to provide numerous benefits such as improved health, strength, balance and flexibility. It is also a means to calm the mind and the senses and discover inner peace and tranquility.

Pranayama – (Breath control)

Is the act of measuring, controlling and directing the breathing process. The basic breathing pattern are inhalation, retention of breath, and inhalation. This controls the flow of force in our body to achieve good health and over all well being.

Pratyahara (Control of the Senses)

This occurs when a person retreats from anything that distracts its senses. Specialising In Pharmacy When you withdraw your connection with the things around you.

Dharana (Concentration)

The goal is to still the mind and focus in one direction. When the mind is able to focus efficiently on a single subject a greater possibility can be achieved- inner healing.

Dhyana (Devotion, Meditation on the Divine)

Also means worship or adoration. It involves meditation in different stages with the objective of knowing the truth.

Samadhi (Union with the Divine)

The final goal is the completion and attainment of Samadhi. It is the state of oneness with the universe and the ultimate achievement of physical, ethical, emotional, and psycho-spiritual health.

True peace and unity.